Is Instagram Notifying People When You Screenshot?

5715320449007616
@annabelpesant

News that has been sending everyone on an emotional rollercoaster this week – Instagram now allows you to see who has screenshotted your photos.

Internal screams.

I mean, it’s everybody’s worst nightmare. We all screenshot photos on Instagram, how else are we gonna stalk people? As soon as the news broke people started losing their minds. I think on an unconscious level it’s a modern girl’s nightmare. Screenshotting Facebook and Instagram photos is a guilty pleasure we all share. How else can we share these photos with our best friends?

However, Instagram didn’t clarify exactly who would be notified and when. Breathe. It’s only for disappearing content you send via Instagram Direct. Basically, the same that Snapchat does, but it makes you feel a little safer, right? The whole screenshot notification situation helps you to feel a little more secure that what you’re sending will actually disappear (and not be saved on someone’s camera roll!).

So the answer is – in part, yes. But only for Instagram Direct. So don’t panic, you can go back to your creeping.


Receive our latest tips into your inbox

Beth

Managing Editor

Beth is the Managing Editor of CGD. She is a graduate of the Penguin Writer's Academy, has published a short story and loves to read creative writing manuals in her spare time.

Get On The LIST

 

DON'T MISS A THING



Join the CGD team for all things fashion, beauty, career and everything us CGD girls are up to!